People pissing me off, riding the Metro edition

When I was working on the hill, the Metro (DC’s subway system) played a primary role in my daily commute. Since October however, buses have become my transportation of choice. So when I ventured out to Greenbelt this afternoon on the Greenline for an REI visit, all the things that people do to piss me off on the metro came flooding back. Here is my short list.

  1. Using your phone as a boombox. Your music stinks, there is no reason to assault our ears with the distorted mess created by music being pumped out of tiny cell phone speakers.  I can’t tell if those doing this just want attention or they know it is annoying and just want me want to strangle them. I can tell you that dirty looks makes no difference to these inconsiderate folks.
  2. Obstructing doorways. During the rush commute there is a need to stand in the area around the doors, but when riders move on and off, get the hell out-of-the-way. Nothing is worse at the end of a long day then to have two people decide they really like the spot in front of the doors and refuse to budge as you have to struggle to move past them. These people almost always have headphones on allowing them to avoid the horrible things I’m yelling.
  3. Standing on the left side of escalators. Tourists are the biggest offenders but are far from the only guilty ones. DC is a city of perpetual motion so to have the escalator blocked by visitors to the city or just douchebags who think they are the only people in the world is enough to make you want to kick people down the steps.
  4. Metro employees more interested in talking to each other than doing their jobs. I can’t count how many times I’ve had a problem with my transit card or watched someone else with the same problem have to scream at the station attendants because they’re too busy laughing and carrying on with one of their colleagues to notice. Hey, how about I throw my bag at your head, will that get your attention?

My list of complaints is far from complete as I’m sure my fellow DC residents can give me examples of their own pet peeves. If you have some, just share them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

